The following are the statutory rules for public adjusting fees in Florida:
Hurricane Claims: Capped at 10% for the first year following a hurricane as long as the governor declared the storm a state emergency. After the first year following the hurricane, the fee is capped at 20%.
Commercial property claims are not subject to the 10% cap.
Non-Hurricane Claims: Capped at 20%
The fees are calculated after the deductible is taken out.
Example of Public Adjuster Fees in Florida
$52,500 settlement — $2500 deductible = $50,000
10% Fee applied would cost $5000
Remember, no public adjuster can charge fees for money that has already been recovered by the insured.
Another example: The homeowner receives a check for $5,000 and then the public adjuster comes in and settles the claim for $50,000, then, the 10% fee is based on $45,000 new money.
I am happy to look at your claim to see what I can do to help you. I abide by the statute which regulates public adjuster fees in Florida.
Florida Allstar Public Adjusting, Inc.
Alan Himmel, Licensed and Bonded Public Adjuster. 954-659-8333